Input

Posted on

How do you learn to not take things personally?

10 thoughts on “Input

    AlishiaDee said:
    July 14, 2017 at 3:00 pm

    Good question. Not easy thing to do. I still struggle with that a lot. I think for ne what works sometimes is being able to remind myself when I get that feeling that someone is doing/saying something that I feel is trying to take a jab at me that they’re probably NOT doing that…since i know myself and how i tend to feel that way. I also try and say well, they might be going through someone in their life that i have no idea about, and that that could have caused their behavior, if it was someone who seemed aggressive or snooty or whatever. Taking a steo back during these times and asking myself am i feeling this way because of what has happened to me, always feeling picked on/rejected/ignored? Because usually me taking something personal has way more to do eith myself than anyone else.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      July 14, 2017 at 3:48 pm

      Hmmm great answer I think your right across the board.

    Iggy said:
    July 14, 2017 at 3:43 pm

    ooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhh! wadda question! I’m not sure I have an answer. How I take things vary from the people they come from and the situation. For the most part I take things to heart and am very sensitive and take things personally way too often. If I go into a conversation expecting an honest answer/opinion then I am kind of prepared for what is to come and don’t take things too hard. But from my loved ones, I take it all to heart, no matter what it is. I often have to talk myself out of feeling *whatever* at the moment. There is definitely a learning curve to this and it is not something that can be done over night, you almost have to build up an emotional callus without being cynical. I’ll be watching for responses to pick up some tips myself.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      July 14, 2017 at 3:50 pm

      I’d much rather be am ostrich what I don’t know doesn’t hurt me.

        Iggy said:
        July 14, 2017 at 3:57 pm

        I understand that! I stick my head in the sand quite often, BUT…. you can’t live your life that way.

    iamthatpersonwhoalreadyknows said:
    July 14, 2017 at 4:12 pm

    Have not figured that out yet.

    bp7o9 said:
    July 15, 2017 at 1:11 am

    You’ve got to be able to throw it back at them. Anything anyone says isn’t actually directed at you, it’s because they don’t love themselves or they have Daddy issues or their boss yelled at them. But I think this is kind of a trap, too. If you’re always throwing stuff back at everyone else, you’re never taking a look at yourself. And the people who can do it successfully, and not let any comment ever ruffle them…well, most of the ones I know aren’t very nice people. At all.

    A Walk into the Woods said:
    July 15, 2017 at 2:56 am

    One mantra:
    People are responsible for their own words and actions. It’s NOT about you, it’s about THEM.
    You only identify in others, characteristics that you yourself have.
    A thief will suspect everyone else to be one.
    A liar fails to believe anyone – because he is one.

    Same also, please do not take things personally because it’s about them. Not about you.
    See your beautiful self and thank God for the beauty inside your heart. 🙂

    manyofus1980 said:
    July 16, 2017 at 6:03 am

    when I figure that one ou I’ll let ya know! for now it is a mystery to me! xo

    Jen Standing said:
    July 17, 2017 at 6:41 pm

    I remember all the times someone took something I did personally when it wasn’t – it’s a reminder that yeah, it happens!

Leave a Reply

