Finding positives

Posted on

Today I’m going to find positives. I’ve spent the morning thinking on it and it has been difficult but I’m going to do it.

  1. I have a job
  2. I have loving children
  3. I have loving parents
  4. I have loving boyfriend
  5. I’m a good person
  6. I have friends who care
  7. You guys are amazing and I appreciate you all. 
  8. Today is half way over and I have five days off 
  9. I get up every day and shower and as many of you know that can be hard some days 
  10. I like myself today which is weird as I feel very lonely today.

Ten that’s pretty good right? Do you have any positives?

11 thoughts on “Finding positives

    A Walk into the Woods said:
    June 30, 2017 at 12:31 pm

    Yes. Angels are around us, protecting us all the time.

    yx9fvzer said:
    June 30, 2017 at 2:05 pm

    Feeling like yourself, but still lonely? Yeah, I totally get that in my own way. For me it’s the truth that my truth works for me. I can accept other truths also. I guess it’s kind of like trying to explain that when I split the splitting rotates on a axis. We’re all a bit strange and gifted and my positive is that you share these things and your life and it helps me see mine better. And gives us a chance to be there for each other in a way that forms a new kind of community.

    We couldn’t have this with you being there also. Thanks for being amazing your own self!

    Iggy said:
    June 30, 2017 at 6:56 pm

    This is kind of what I am working on in therapy. My homework last session was to have one daily affirmation a day. After day 5 it got really hard. The past few days I’ve had nothin. I guess this is why I chose to work on this–I need help in this area.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      June 30, 2017 at 7:56 pm

      Well I think your a great internet blog friend did you write that one down?

    Blooming Lily said:
    June 30, 2017 at 7:50 pm

    Having a hard time with positives today. Then I read this and realized a few applied to me. Thanks!!! ❤️ (and hang in there, I feel you)

    manyofus1980 said:
    July 1, 2017 at 5:27 am

    1 i have a loyal and loving dog that I love. 2 I have a loving family. 3 I love myself despite my flaws. xx

    BipolarOnFire said:
    July 1, 2017 at 9:50 am

    That is great that you are finding the positives!!! On the morning that I took my big exam, I wrote a Gratitude List that was like 19 items long and it was such a comfort because I thought, whether I pass or fail this exam, I’ll still have all these things to be grateful for. So I’m going to keep writing a gratitude list every day. I think it’s a good attitude to cultivate.

    Jen Standing said:
    July 1, 2017 at 12:25 pm

    I have a cozy bed and a family that loves me!

    jcparry said:
    July 18, 2017 at 10:33 pm

    This is a great technique. When my daughters were young and would exhibit negativity, I would wait for them to finish their rant and then ask for “three good things”. That is, list three good things that happened to you today.
    It is an amazingly effective technique that combines redirection, reframing and cognitive change. It has been so effective that, even though my children are now gone, I will occasionally hear the ask someone (or even me) for “three good things”.

Leave a Reply

