not sure what to think

Posted on

My psych Dr was no help. He stated there is no cure for bipolar so even with medication I will get symptoms. He said I should take the klonopine when needed as is what is there for. No discussion on medication changes. Even though I told him I had felt suicidal during the week. 

I feel so alone in this. I want to cry if I could. I do want to be cured and maybe it’s what’s holding me back. It doesn’t exist is like pining for a man who will never love you. Complete mental anguish. 

15 thoughts on “not sure what to think

    Working on wiser said:
    June 16, 2017 at 11:28 am

    That really sucks when you are reaching out for help and your concerns are just dismissed 😦 talk about invalidating:/ I hope things level out for you soon. Can you talk to your boyfriend about how you are feeling ? When do you start seeing your counselor again?

    Mel (Hippo256) said:
    June 16, 2017 at 11:34 am

    I think it is really important to have a doctor who is open to med changes. Especially when you have symptoms/side-effects. Or if it doesn’t work (well enough). Do you know how much it should reduce your symptoms? Would it be worth it for you? Ultimately, you decide what you’re taking or not. Maybe you can try talking to a different doctor?

    iamthatpersonwhoalreadyknows said:
    June 16, 2017 at 1:27 pm

    It sucks that mental illness is not curable.

    laurelwolfelives said:
    June 16, 2017 at 2:08 pm

    Is there a hotline you can call? Surely there is. Those people are there in times of critical need. I’m so sorry you are going through this. 😥

    hazelhillboro said:
    June 16, 2017 at 2:12 pm

    I’m so sorry.

    I don’t know what else to say. It’s the worst, but at least you’re not alone? You’ve got the bloggosphere here to support you… I have days like that too. Just remember that you can get through these days to better ones. They always come eventually.

    manyofus1980 said:
    June 16, 2017 at 4:19 pm

    he sounds dumb. I’m sorry he was no help. And I’m sorry your struggling. Hugs. xxx

    AddictedSophie said:
    June 16, 2017 at 6:09 pm

    Oh Gosh what a “doctor” 😦 Bipolar cannot be cured. Period. But there are excellent medications that make the symptoms minimal. There are people who don’t even take meds but they learn how to cope with the help of therapy. I am so sorry you feel suicidal, please take care of yourself.

    BronxBiPolarChick said:
    June 18, 2017 at 5:53 am

    Yeah I was still getting symptoms when I was on meds… we are here for u sis … sending hugs your way

    Becky Bee said:
    June 18, 2017 at 4:28 pm

    Can be so hard when thinking there is no cure…but incurable doesn’t mean untreatable and I hope once someone listens to you, you’ll be able to at least find meds that keep symptoms to an absolute minimum x

    Iggy said:
    June 19, 2017 at 2:53 pm

    If you really feel that you need a medication change or increase/decrease, you have to be on your doctors ass or get a new doctor. Yes, we are still going to have symptoms while on medication, BUT…. meds still need to be adjusted, especially if you have been having suicidal thoughts. This is when you have to stand firm and be your own advocate.

Leave a Reply

