interesting “fact”

Posted on Updated on

Here is an interesting quote from “Take Charge of Bipolar Disorder: A 4-Step Plan for You and Your Loved Ones to Manage the Illness and Create Lasting Stability” by Julie A. Fast, John Preston –

“A study by Judd and colleagues in 2003 looked at the course of bipolar disorder over a period of thirteen years. During this time, people with Bipolar II spent 15 percent of their days in major depression, 40 percent of days in minor depressions, and only 1.4 percent of days in hypomania. The most common length for hypomanic episodes was one to three days”

I sometimes think or wonder if I’m really bipolar ii since I don’t get hypo very often. But I think that’s due to meds and then also probably the above interesting “fact” I put it in quotes as I’m not sure how true it is but it does seem accurate to me. It is very validating as I do feel I spend my time in those states that respective amount of time. 

It goes on to say 

“the biggest problem in Bipolar II is depression. And over the life span, Bipolar II patients spend three times as many days in depression than do Bipolar I patients. Rapid cycling (four or more severe episodes during a one-year period) is much more common in Bipolar II than in Bipolar I. Bipolar II often goes on for years before it’s recognized as bipolar disorder, because it’s often mistaken for recurrent unipolar depression. Due to the chronic nature of Bipolar II compared with Bipolar I, it’s also mistaken for oddness, moodiness, and the inability to just snap out of it!”
This is what I experienced. My psych Dr at the time said I only had recurrent depression but I knew there was something more going on. I advocated for myself and got a psych evaluation that confirmed bipolar ii it was so frustrating to me and if you can tell still is lol that he didn’t see the signs more.

Another tidbit

“Anxiety is the most common co-existing symptom in bipolar disorder, as it occurs in more than 90 percent of people with the illness.”
Well hell! I hope this book sheds light on how to stop or at least curb it. But once again very validating.

3 thoughts on “interesting “fact”

    Shirley plus nitro said:
    June 11, 2017 at 8:12 pm

    yes very validating indeed! I am glad you found something to help you not feel so on your own with this. xx

    likelew said:
    June 15, 2017 at 10:00 pm

    Thank you so much for this post!
    X

Leave a Reply

