hurtful things

Posted on

My son jokingly said something to me but I took it very personal. I don’t know if it was a real joke or his true feelings masked as a joke. It’s been twelve hours since it was said and it still bothers me. I know if I ask him he’ll just say it’s a joke. Being a parent is hard but add mental illness in with it and it’s harder. But I think most days I’m a good mom. I’m better then I was two years ago over medicated. But in general how do we not screw up our children? My parents tried their best and look at where I am.

6 thoughts on “hurtful things

    laurelwolfelives said:
    May 27, 2017 at 10:30 am

    I’ve always heard the phrase “many a truth is said in jest.” I would ask him and tell him that I wanted complete honesty.
    You don’t mention what he said but I remember my son calling me “a selfish fucking cunt.”
    Deep down, that very well may be how he truly feels. They all blame me for the destruction of the family…never the one who actually destroyed it.
    So…I would try to talk to him. You can’t let yourself be so troubled about it.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      May 27, 2017 at 10:45 am

      Thank you for your support always. I have guess my poor ego can’t handle it if it were how he feels yet not knowing is bothering me too.

        laurelwolfelives said:
        May 27, 2017 at 11:08 am

        I understand. What my son said bothered me but I have heard so much from him, Loser and my daughters…now I just shake my head and say “call me anything you want, if it helps you sleep at night.”

    manyofus1980 said:
    May 27, 2017 at 11:19 am

    you are doing your best. everyone makes mistakes nobodys perfect. i am sorry it hurt you what he said. xx

    bethanyk said:
    May 27, 2017 at 12:32 pm

    Oh I always ask! I say , ” ok honey I know that was all jokingly said but deep down is there truth to it, yes or no?”
    It is hard. Parenting is hard.

    Learning to Love My Demons said:
    May 27, 2017 at 9:06 pm

    Parents do not screw up their children. You are not screwed up. You are a good parent and guess what?! You are raising someone who will one day be an independent human being. Does your son understand you suffer from mental illness(es)?

Leave a Reply

