forgot to share

Posted on Updated on

edited to add: the consensious is they had the right so I’ll let it go. I hate the thought of paying for it though. ūüė¶

For those admitted to the psych ward through the er dept… Did they drug test you without asking? Is that legal? Apparently my hospital did and insurance doesn’t cover it. I’m pissed. I was clean so the testing was no big deal there but no one even asked me if I was on drugs. I know I was distraught but I’d remember that. It’s the fact the assumed I was that has me angry and now I have a seven hundred dollar bill because if it. Any insight even if saying I should have been is appreciated. 

8 thoughts on “forgot to share

    Culbert Sinnsen said:
    October 23, 2016 at 7:19 pm

    They drug tested me. I’m not sure if they ever asked, they just went ahead and did it.

    iamthatpersonwhoalreadyknows said:
    October 23, 2016 at 7:19 pm

    I know it is protocal to do it when admitted . Everytime I was admitted, it was done.

    The Strong One said:
    October 23, 2016 at 7:20 pm

    I know I think they’ve drug tested me at the ER before when going to the psych ward – but here it is covered by health insurance so I can’t tell you more. They also tested to see if my meds were at the right level.

    Aunt Tabbi said:
    October 23, 2016 at 8:07 pm

    I’ve never been admitted, but I know that when I signed on as a patient with my particular doctors office (my therapist, psychiatrist, and family doctor are all in the same practice and can communicate with each other – with my permission) I had to sign a paper saying that at any and all time with or without cause or my future permission they could drug test me.

    bethanyk said:
    October 23, 2016 at 11:35 pm

    I went to the ER for a seizure and they drug tested me without permission AND billed my insurance for it!!!!!!! For a freaking seizure! Never even told me. I saw it on my explanation of benefits for my insurance.

    A Single Parent's Life said:
    October 24, 2016 at 6:39 pm

    I think it is pretty standard if you go to the hospital for major things like this, an accident, or just about anything other than your run of the mill my ear/throat hurts or if they think they are going to have to give you any kind of strong medication or stuff for the heart or what. They tested my dad after his accident, they tested him when he was found after a seizure and was taken in. I have a friend who is very ill with heart failure, stomach problems and some other things. She has been in the hospital a month at a time and in and out of the er once or twice a week for weeks at the same hospital and every time they drug test her. She is always clean other than her medications she is on but they still do it before they will give her anything or help her. they don’t ask they just do it.

    monlvz said:
    October 24, 2016 at 10:23 pm

    I feel like it’s probably standard to test if you’re admitted… my thinking is that they probably want to know, “are the symptoms they are exhibiting a result of their mental illness or is this being triggered by something else? IE drug use.”
    That’s the most rational thing I can think of.. even if t doesn’t seem right, or ideal

Leave a Reply

