Sneaky thoughts

Posted on

I often have little flash backs to bad things that have happened. It’s never the good things. It then leads me to obsess over them and beat them past a pulp. Like right now I’m obsessing over work things. I need to learn to let things go. I can’t change the past. I can’t keep seconding guessing myself either. We do our best with what we have or know. I try every day to be a good person. I think I don’t fail very often but on those occasions I do… Boy does it eat me up 😦

7 thoughts on “Sneaky thoughts

    laurelwolfelives said:
    August 20, 2016 at 11:26 am

    I remember EVEYTHING. I have always wondered if my eidectc memory was a blessing or a curse.
    “Letting things go” is one of the hardest things. I never let anything go. The one good thing (I guess) about my memory is that while I never forget horrible things of the past….I never forget a kindness.
    You say you try to be a nice person. You are. If you weren’t, you wouldn’t worry that you might not be. 🙂

      socialworkerangela responded:
      August 20, 2016 at 11:27 am

      Very true 🙂 I didn’t think of it that way

    CreativeSoul said:
    August 20, 2016 at 11:30 am

    This is me. I have PTSD and have flashbacks almost everyday. Racing thoughts about things that happened which feels like OCD to me. I just obsess over negative things so much and I think it’s because they impact me so deeply. I think the key is to not judge ourselves for it. I have been saying the same thing about letting things go but I don’t think that works. I believe my past has affected the way I think and even though that may be changed I need to just let the thoughts flow and respond to them differently. Hope that makes sense.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      August 20, 2016 at 11:59 am

      Hmmm maybe accepting the thoughts will help alleviate the anxiety over the thoughts.

    Culbert Sinnsen said:
    August 20, 2016 at 12:23 pm

    I do the exact same thing. I beat myself up over things I did 5, 10, 15 years ago.

    manyofus1980 said:
    August 20, 2016 at 6:02 pm

    oh boy I relate. hate the sneaky thoughts. xxx

    katiereablog said:
    August 21, 2016 at 5:00 am

    I can so relate to this post! I can be having a good day and then all of a sudden something triggers my past and it sets off my anxiety. It takes me so long to get rid of them from my mind as well!

Leave a Reply

