Randomness 8/14/16

Posted on

I don’t like my new therapist. He over shares about himself. He wants me to go to a twelve step program for my binge eating. I love the idea of it and do not fault anyone who does. I just have issues with telling a group of people I don’t have my shit together. Hell I even have the over eaters twelve step book. But I just don’t know. Does that mean I’m not committed to change? 

I go back to work tomorrow. I have to accept that this is my job now and do the best I can. Right or wrong. 

I notice my coping mechanism I have is ignoring the issue at hand hoping it goes away. Is that healthy? 

Will I ever get better? I just fill like I’m spinning in circles. 

19 thoughts on “Randomness 8/14/16

    thelifeilive2016blog said:
    August 14, 2016 at 9:55 am

    In my experience great therapists are hard to come by. I’d give him 6 sessions and if he’s not working out move on to another. Since September 2015 I have seen 6 therapists. 3 myself before finding my guy. 2 others were my hubs’ therapist and a couples therapist. 5 of the 6 weren’t worth a hoot. When you find a good one you will know it.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      August 14, 2016 at 9:56 am

      Thank you I will follow you advice

        thelifeilive2016blog said:
        August 14, 2016 at 10:06 am

        At first I felt bad having to call my EAP to request a new therapist over and over but then I decided who cares. I need help and these people aren’t working. Finding a therapist is very personalized thing. The first session I had with the Brent I knew. Wish I had found him a year ago.

    thelifeilive2016blog said:
    August 14, 2016 at 9:57 am

    And I’m not all into 12 step programs. I feel uncertain of individuals that attend these things. I’ve been to a few groups and they made me terribly uneasy and always seemed to have that one obnoxious person who tried to rule everything. Lol.

    decodingbipolar said:
    August 14, 2016 at 10:24 am

    It doesn’t mean you’re not committed to change. Groups just aren’t for everyone. I’ve never been to a 12-step program before, so I can’t speak one way or the other about them, but I was a part of a peer-led group for anorexia a while back and though it helped me to feel less alone it also triggered me. It was a place of sharing and positivity, but my eating disorder gets triggered by other eating disorders so I learned that can’t do groups, at least not when I’m in a certain place with it. That’s just my experience though, yours may vary.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      August 14, 2016 at 10:27 am

      Thank you… That helped a lot. I’m probably being too hard on myself.

    BipolarOnFire said:
    August 14, 2016 at 10:32 am

    I think about going to a 12-Step program for my binge eating. But I don’t do it. The thought overwhelms me. I keep hoping that I’ll “get my shit together” all by myself. To tell you the truth I’ve danced up and down the scale since I’ve been a teenager. Medicating my feelings with food is what I do. I don’t know if I’ll ever change.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      August 14, 2016 at 10:44 am

      I agree I just don’t know if I have the tools… Sigh

        BipolarOnFire said:
        August 14, 2016 at 10:51 am

        I think for me a lot of my issue is dealing with feelings…not stuffing them…with cigarettes, pot, food, you name it. Just…feeling. It’s very hard for me.

    bethanyk said:
    August 14, 2016 at 10:39 am

    I absolutely cannot go to a therapist that shares too much about themself. It is not about them. I have enough “thems” I don’t need my therapist to be one!!! I think that sometimes ignoring is ok if it means you are distracted from it. I mean we cannot always bee completely immersed in our pain.

    manyofus1980 said:
    August 14, 2016 at 10:42 am

    You will get better, I believe in you. you can do this. hold on things wont always be so hard, promise. XXX

    monlvz said:
    August 14, 2016 at 8:39 pm

    I went to some OA meeting and found them useless. Admittedly, I was uncomfortable with the basis of it being on a higher being. Often times the meetings just triggered me.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      August 14, 2016 at 8:42 pm

      That’s what I’m afraid of that it’ll make it worse not better

    monlvz said:
    August 14, 2016 at 8:40 pm

    However! I’ve definitely had a therapist that over shared. For example for the first therapist I had, I would be talking about my eating disorder and she would make comparisons. She’d have be measure my wrists and be like yeaaahhhh I had an eating disorder too but my wrists were smaller. Like, wtf?
    Anyways, if your insurance allows it, find someone different ASAP.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      August 14, 2016 at 8:44 pm

      Wow that is over share. I agree I think I should find someone different. I already don’t feel comfortable with him

    conflictedhealth said:
    September 3, 2016 at 8:04 pm

    YOU WILL GET BETTER! I’ve been there… in the deep dark hole. You can do this! Keep fighting the good fight!

Leave a Reply

