Lonely

Posted on

My kiddos are at camp. I’m home alone and even though we don’t interact a lot I still feel empty without them here. What am I going to do with myself when the leave me as they grow up. I need a hobby. I think I’ll finally move to Texas when they leave. I just got to get them grown. In general I’m not in a hurry. I like having children to raise. But I see how meaningless my life will be with them gone. Just my thoughts for tonight. What do you do with your time?

17 thoughts on “Lonely

    Iggy said:
    June 7, 2016 at 6:30 pm

    I understand your feeling. As I write this, I am waiting for my 9 year old to come home from a friend’s house. There is just something about having your kids around that fill a void. :/ I try to keep myself busy with whatever; housework, internet, a book. I’m not one to go out much, but if your into that, maybe go out? Even if it is just window shopping?

      socialworkerangela responded:
      June 8, 2016 at 8:50 am

      I ended up falling asleep. But I have today and tomorrow still. I might read a book. I’ve been wanting to re read the Harry potter series again

    spiritualdragonfly said:
    June 7, 2016 at 7:09 pm

    My children are all grown with families of their own…I miss them terribly….but with that said…I Need my solitude…I crave it…I go through periods of self imposed ‘hibernation’ if you will….I take long Soul Stroll walks that are an integral part of my daily life and my healing…I read…I write…I take pictures…..I love sitting and watching a House Hunters marathon…..

    Aunt Tabbi said:
    June 7, 2016 at 8:50 pm

    I don’t understand what it is like to have children at home, but I have always had family or a roommate around (except for two years of living completely on my own in my early 20’s). I have been “alone” (with Moose) since August of last year. I have a hard time some days. But I do plenty of things to keep busy. If I didn’t I would find myself in bed most of the time. I paint. I write. I blog. I play Family Farm on Facebook. I color adult coloring books. I go out to local areas and take photos. I look for recipes everywhere. I cook. I bake. I clean. Wow…when I write it all out…I do a lot of different stuff. lol You’ll find things to occupy your time. (If you ever join Family Farm on Facebook, let me know and we can be neighbors…lol)

    sliceoflife11 said:
    June 7, 2016 at 10:08 pm

    That’s an excellent question (what do I do with my time)… My husband died last year and we didn’t have kids so I’m alone… I guess I have taken to training and running and walking to pass the time. I walk A LOT. Passes the time and gets rid of self-destructive thoughts…

      Lively Life said:
      June 8, 2016 at 8:22 am

      such a healthy directino you’ve went! good on ya!

      socialworkerangela responded:
      June 8, 2016 at 8:53 am

      I could sure use the exercise. I’m sorry for your loss.

    Nina Hardy said:
    June 8, 2016 at 3:43 am

    I don’t have kids to raise, so finding a reason to live is difficult sometimes. I curb it by packing my day with worthwhile actions. For example I started studying again and I do charity work. Just sitting around is like swimming in a lake full of depressed crocodiles waiting for them to consume you.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      June 8, 2016 at 8:54 am

      Great analogy. I agree sitting around isn’t helping

    manyofus1980 said:
    June 8, 2016 at 3:45 am

    I like to read. Listen to music. Watch good tv programmes. Talk on the phone to friends..and of course email too. xxx

      socialworkerangela responded:
      June 8, 2016 at 8:54 am

      I miss our talks 🙂

        manyofus1980 said:
        June 8, 2016 at 4:05 pm

        When I’m not so tired we can email, I’ll email you later tonight

    Lively Life said:
    June 8, 2016 at 8:21 am

    It is nice to see you are already thinking and feelingn these things before they are already gone. You seem to have a type of estranged relationship with the children. Do you care to change that and make it stronger? Or are you fine with it and just want to focus more on yourself. For me, I try and meet regularly with girlfriends- they happen to mostly all have children. It was difficult to at first. The getting ready and actually leaving the house, ( its always easier just to stay in ) but it got easier over time. So I do that and do things with my son like walk around a town aimlessly, playground, sit down and have a coffee while he eats a bagel. Simple things with him. I don’t have a significant other to pour myself into, but if i did, you can darn well bet that would be a huge part of my existence.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      June 8, 2016 at 8:56 am

      With them gone I realize how I need to interact more with them. They are only young once. I’m going to work on it when they get back.

    isuckatmarriage said:
    March 16, 2017 at 2:55 pm

    I have a friend whose sentiments reflect yours in many ways.

Leave a Reply

