A to z challenge: work

Posted on

I keep having a dream about losing my job. I always end up doing something else but I have the stress and drama of being displaced. Usually due to doing something bad on the job. I’m not sure what it means but I had another dream about it last night. I remember crying over it and being amazed I could cry. Total side note but I miss crying. I can laugh occasionally but I don’t seem to be able to cry.

Anyway does anyone know what dreams mean especially one dealing with the work place?

10 thoughts on “A to z challenge: work

    mamaborderline said:
    April 28, 2016 at 7:53 pm

    Now that I’m working I can totally relate. You work really hard all day trying to accomplish something and failing well failing would feel like a failure. I have constant anxiety about my job. I have been feeling super numb as well lately. I have to force myself to cry it’s hard but when I do it it’s brief. Maybe this is a good thing?

      socialworkerangela responded:
      April 28, 2016 at 8:06 pm

      It’s nice not being hysterical all the time like I use to be but then sometimes crying is a natural reaction and can make you feel better. I’ve lost that ability to self south that way… If that makes sense

    Elusive Trope said:
    April 28, 2016 at 11:23 pm

    my personal take on dream interpretation is for the person to sit with the subject matter and meditate on what it means to them. Back in January of 2013 I was laid off (they were being nice and not firing me, which because of my mood disorders i deserved to be long before it happened) after working at the non-profit for seven years. I really haven’t worked since (after a stint of living with my family, I know have SSDI), but I still have this recurring dream where we are about to have a finance committee meeting, and the volunteers are showing up and i haven’t done anything to get the reports i’m supposed to have ready. they used to be wildly painful dreams because as i reflected on it, this particular scenario i was dreaming about encapsulated how i saw myself as being a failure and a f*-up, and that i had put so much of sense of self-worth into my ability to perform at work (when i wasn’t experiencing episodes of my bipolar and anxiety disorders, i was a great employee). I’ve slowly come to terms with not only how my disorders undermined my ability to work, but also mean that i basically can’t hold a regular job (even part-time), and over time this dream has slowly altered where there are times in the dream when I stop myself as i frantically try to get the reports ready for the meeting and say “whoa, i’m not suppose to be working. this meeting doesn’t matter.”

      socialworkerangela responded:
      April 29, 2016 at 7:58 am

      I think that we have to over compensate due to our disorders that it makes it hard to keep a job. I’ve been lucky to have mine so long I’m afraid of losing it I think.

        Elusive Trope said:
        April 30, 2016 at 1:56 pm

        i spent most of those seven yeas fearing i would lose it. every time my boss said “Doug, can i see you in my office” i would think this was it, the have-to-let-you-go speech. For about the last five years i lived in a pay-by-the-week motel room because i didn’t think i should sign a lease for an apartment when i knew i would bolt from the town (which i disliked) as soon as the s* hit the fan.

        Yet here the kicker – when it did happen, and the boss at the time with whom i was friends gave me the news, she was crying because she hated doing that and i couldn’t have been happier. it was time to go down another path and leave the place behind.

        the trick, which i have far from learned, is being open to the twists and turns, even those that at first (and second and third) glance seem to be not so pleasant. although i am not still in the AA program, i believe sayings such as the Serenity Prayer have much wisdom in them.

        socialworkerangela responded:
        April 30, 2016 at 1:58 pm

        I think a part of me would be relieved if I got let go. It would take a lot really though as I work for the state.

        Elusive Trope said:
        April 30, 2016 at 2:19 pm

        and maybe it is best in the long run for you to be able to stay on…because we don’t have the answers, one day (one moment) at a time. 🙂

        socialworkerangela responded:
        April 30, 2016 at 2:37 pm

        Exactly 🙂 I’ll just keep plugging away. Thank you for your encouragement

    manyofus1980 said:
    April 29, 2016 at 7:55 am

    the fact your dreaming about your job means you’ve been subconsciously thinking a lot about it. not sure on the meaning though. XX

Leave a Reply

