A to z challenge: recovery

Posted on

I don’t know what recovery means in relation to mental health. I don’t think I’ll ever be recovered. I’m not trying to be a bitch here and make light of others who are recovered. I just don’t know if it exists. I will always be bipolar and borderline personality disorder. There is no cure and to me recovery would include no medication. Am I wrong? Please tell me if I am.

My husband feels I should check into a hospital but I just think of who will do my work if I go? My organization lack of skills will be discovered. I can’t have that but then I think if I could get someone to really help me that would be awesome. How do you know when it’s time to go to the hospital? When my gallbladder went out it was an easy decision. The pain was tangible and acceptable. This pain is shameful and scoffed at.

Plus my son’s MRI is next week and I can’t miss that. So I’m thinking I’m going to “tough” it out.

7 thoughts on “A to z challenge: recovery

    stuffthatneedssaying said:
    April 21, 2016 at 2:53 pm

    I believe recovery is when your medication makes you well enough that you can manage day-to-day life using whatever healthy coping skills you’ve learned. The balance between medication and coping skills is negotiable.

    It’s time for the hospital in any of the following cases: you are at risk of harming yourself or others; you are incapable of taking care of your basic needs; you need a medication adjustment and it’s safer to do with supervision. Anything else can be managed outpatient, but if you have a facility nearby with the room and the willingness to admit you it’s perfectly okay to go just because you need a break where all you need to worry about is taking care of yourself. Sometimes the boost of hope you get from having other people take responsibility for a while is a great help.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      April 21, 2016 at 6:16 pm

      It would be nice to just be able to get me in a good place

    millierhodes said:
    April 21, 2016 at 3:06 pm

    I have BPD too. Hang in there. Make sure you look after yourself, and do some nice things for yourself. If you’re struggling with that, maybe ask someone else to help you with them. Distraction is key and can often make you happier quicker than you might think. x

      socialworkerangela responded:
      April 21, 2016 at 6:17 pm

      Thank you for your support now off to find a distraction

    ecteedoff said:
    April 23, 2016 at 11:21 am

    while a lot of people can “recover” from a sickness, the word “recovery” to me was always a state of being. For example, someone is a “recovering alcoholic.” It doesn’t mean they’re “cured.” Every day, they work to fight their addiction. I believe, even if we can eliminate our clinical depression, those of us with mental disorders will always be working to maintain balance. While I believe life is all about balance, obviously it’s different for those of us who not only balance the stresses of life, but with an often uncontrollable driver at the wheel of our brain’s decision-making and emotion regulation. I don’t tell people I’m “in recovery” because I know that at any moment things might change no matter how “good” I am at trying to maintain and control this disease. I see it as rather living with a disease. Most disorders are permanent – whether they are mental or physical. So long story short – interesting question; long-winded semi-thought answer. 🙂

    Elusive Trope said:
    April 23, 2016 at 6:03 pm

    we are all recovering humans.

    there was a time when I was part of the AA program. Although I no longer participate in it, I am grateful not only for the lessons and insights gleaned from the meetings and readings, but all the wonderful people I met. One of the more precious gems I pulled away from my time in the program was the passage: We shall be with you in the Fellowship of the Spirit, and you will surely meet some of us as you trudge the Road of Happy Destiny” — the points here being is that although it may be trudge it is a road of happy destiny, but even more so, it is not about a destination (recovered), but a journey (recovering).

    manyofus1980 said:
    May 5, 2016 at 10:49 pm

    recovery means different things to different people. its about finding what works for you. the right meds, support groups, talk therapy whatever works. XX

Leave a Reply

