Wth

Posted on

I just got out of my psych doctor appt. This is my second appt with her and she tells me she will see me one other time then pass me to a colleague. What is it about the mental health industry that makes us so disposable? Do they not realize how this causes chaos which isn’t healthy? It’s so exhausting. Plus my blood pressure was high so I’ve got something else to worry about and she wouldn’t give me vyvanse because I’m bipolar but I know others that take it. Maybe the new doctor would be willing. Who knows.

3 thoughts on “Wth

    Elusive Trope said:
    April 7, 2016 at 11:33 am

    One of the infuriating things is when the docs and other health professionals deem one, because of being bipolar, as guilty of substance abuse until proven innocent, which of course since one is not prescribed certain meds that has a potential for substance abuse because of that guilt, one cannot ever prove one’s innocence.

    I was lucky in finding a psychiatrist who looked past my history of substance abuse (viewing it as a potential case of self-medication because of untreated symptoms) and allowed me the chance to prove I wouldn’t abuse the anxiety meds. Of course this meant at first I had to be monitored closely, but isn’t that their job, trying to navigate the various solutions to find the most healthy path? I know the last two psychiatrists would have not prescribed the only medication regime that has worked for me (one expressing “grave concerns”), but continued the original prescription because there wasn’t any evidence that I was abusing the anxiety medication.

    manyofus1980 said:
    April 8, 2016 at 12:44 am

    that is so not fair. why would she do that? is she retiring or leaving? I am sorry she did that to you. It sucks. XX

Leave a Reply

