Do you believe this?

Posted on

image

I am on the fence. I think some people are dealt really shitty cards. Some people are just ungrateful for the life they have. I also think being given something that wasn’t your choice like cancer or mental illness gives you the right to be a little bitter. Nobody chooses those things. You can’t go out and buy them. It’s just a bitter pill your forced to swallow. Anyway this meme got me thinking and I wanted others thoughts on it so if you’d share I’d appreciate it.

7 thoughts on “Do you believe this?

    huntereverwood said:
    March 19, 2016 at 9:33 pm

    Life is what you make it. Attitude is everything. I know because I am one of those people everyone considers unlucky. But I find that the things that have happened give me a better perspective and more meaningful existence, as deeper questions usually come along with hardship.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      March 19, 2016 at 9:57 pm

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I agree about attitude or at least I’m learning that it can make a difference

    dreamingfracture said:
    March 20, 2016 at 5:37 am

    I think we can’t choose the hand we are dealt but we can choose the course of action we take to try to overcome that hand. I lost three family members in 18 months, saw my mum have major surgery and then lost my mind and as a result nearly lost my job. I couldn’t control that stuff, but I could make the decision to seek treatment for my mental health, be honest about the mess I had made at work, allowing me to keep my job, and start to move on with my life. Making that choice was hard, because I wanted to give up and allow myself to give in to the grief and loss and self-hatred. But in the end I had to force myself to be MORE. Doing that meant not becoming bitter.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      March 20, 2016 at 7:39 am

      That makes total sense thanks for sharing. I agree we can make choices on how we react to things we didn’t choose.

    Iggy said:
    March 20, 2016 at 7:24 pm

    Life is what you make it. Sure, we are all entitled to be bitter for something, but what does it get us? Nothing besides what we let that bitterness do to us. We all get to “that place” where we feel sorry for ourselves, or are angry about something. The key is to not let it take over us. That, in an of itself is difficult to do. We are all entitled to our feelings, but some of them we just can’t allow to take up residency in ourselves.

    psych4society said:
    April 3, 2016 at 2:10 am

    Its hard not to be bitter when you are struggling with a mental illness or a medical condition that is not your fault. Especially with bipolar disorder, because it is so difficulty to maintain stability without proper treatment, and sometimes the treatment that works best for every individual takes time to come by. But I believe that we need to find the positive in every negative. Having a mental illness makes all aspects of life challenging. Those who have never suffered from mental illness have a hard time understanding that. I think that everything you are doing, despite the hardships that come along with the disorder shows how strong you truly are. The fact that you are doing things you are, living with this disorder is a reflection of how strong you really are. As far as “you get bitter or you get better, its that simple.” Its not that simple. You can make the choice to get better but as anyone suffering from any mental illness would most likely agree it is never simple. It takes a lot of hard work, effort and dedication to get better. As far as it being your choice, to find strength in your weaknesses “make you a better person,” I believe this is true. You can chose to find strength in your weaknesses, and it is often difficulty but in the end you come out stronger.

Leave a Reply

