The stigma is real

Posted on

image

It’s funny this meme showed up on fb after my post yesterday. It made me mad. I can’t always decide I have a mental illness sometimes out decides for me for no good reason. I can try and be positive and work through it but that cloud is still there. This mentality really irks me because for one it makes me jealous of people who can just decide because they don’t have mental health issues and two I feel it inflames the idea that mental illness doesn’t exist. That we are just a bunch of miserable people by choice. Some days I agree I can choose to be happier but honestly some days I can’t and no amount of meds or therapy will fully fix that. It’s a chemical imbalance. It’s like saying you can pray away cancer. Trust me I’ve prayed for my son’s cancer so be gone guess what hasn’t happened yet. Ok rant over… I feel better lol

10 thoughts on “The stigma is real

    365daysinthegarden said:
    February 11, 2016 at 11:00 am

    I have to bite my tongue so many times when people start talking like this. Drives me crazy.

    blahpolar said:
    February 11, 2016 at 12:03 pm

    I hate memes like that too.

    thesinistersiren said:
    February 11, 2016 at 2:35 pm

    I really dislike this guy. Now that I’ve read *that* little tidbit, let’s just say I don’t like him any better…

    Elusive Trope said:
    February 11, 2016 at 3:36 pm

    “I can try and be positive and work through it but that cloud is still there.” Speaking for myself when the mental states of my bi-polar and anxiety blossom, all I can do is “try.” This doesn’t mean that I will be successful in letting go of those mental states, but I will be successful in trying to extent my mental state allows (which sometimes means I’m basically incapable of trying). I have to many periods of life when I just gave up, and this led to wallowing in these quicksand “negative” states of mind.

    “That we are just a bunch of miserable people by choice” — there are too many people who believe this, even if they say over and over again that they “understand” what we are going through. Others are quite blunt in expressing this sentiment about choice. “Just cheer up.” “Oh gosh, why didn’t I think of that. You’re a genius.” My opinion is a lot of these people, both kinds, are dealing with some form of mental dis-ease, and they’re trying to convince themselves they can just make it go away through some act of will power.

    One last thing, which I have rambled on before, is that there is way too much emphasis on not just being happy, but being HAPPY ALL THE TIME. Our culture seems to be getting worse and worse about seeking this constant state of bliss; there is a fear of experiencing any emotion such as doubt, grief, anxiety, sadness, heartbreak, fear itself etc. These are part of the full spectrum of emotions and to deny them is to slice off a part of our humanity. This one reason shy away from the arts because too often it confronts them with this part of the emotional spectrum. Of course, there is a difference between experiencing them in the flow and flux of life and finding oneself where these non-pleasant emotions become debilitating on a long-term basis.

    And you should embrace your need to rant all you want. Express yourself.

    Peace.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      February 11, 2016 at 3:59 pm

      As always you shed great light on my posts. Thank you.

    hazelhillboro said:
    February 11, 2016 at 4:10 pm

    Absolutely. People want you to “decide” to stop having a mental illness. I didn’t “decide” to have one in the first place. None of this is fun. No one would ever choose it.

    People are silly sometimes.

    psych4society said:
    April 3, 2016 at 2:23 am

    Nothing makes me more frustrated then when people try to deny that mental illness is real. People often say “its all in your head.” I have a Masters degree in Psychology and I have diagnosed and worked with hundreds of clients. Mental illness is a disease, just like cancer. When I find people who disagree I ask them, “do you think people chose to live this way? If it was a choice then wouldn’t we chose not to suffer?” There are brain scans and plenty of other evidence that show the difference between a normal functioning brain, and the brain of a person with depression, ptsd, bpd and many other mental illnesses. With the right treatment, depending on the severity and the disorder, we can find ways to manage our disorders, and learn to cope with them so that our symptoms don’t get the best of us. But people who believe that mental illness isn’t real, are just naive, and that’s their problem. So don’t let those people get to you, if they want to chose to ignore the facts in front of them, and chose not to educate themselves on mental illness, that is their ignorance. Focus on yourself, don’t worry about what others think.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      April 3, 2016 at 1:58 pm

      It’s refreshing to have someone in the field give encouragement your right it’s their problem but I’m a social worker and the number of co workers I have that just don’t get it is disheartening

        psych4society said:
        April 3, 2016 at 5:33 pm

        i totally get it. ive had soooo many coworkers who just didnt even care about what they were doing or about their clients and im always wondering why they even chose to work in this field. it takes a lot a lot of passion its a really tough field and unfortunately not mAny people can handle it. but ive found those few that can really make a difference in so many peoples lives. its so sad to think about how mAny uneducated people there are even people working in the field. but atleast now i know one more person is out there fighting for the same things i am. i think we can take them 🙂 be the change you want to see in the world always ❤

        socialworkerangela responded:
        April 3, 2016 at 6:02 pm

        Yes be the change 🙂

Leave a Reply

