Mediocrity

Posted on

I was laying here resting when my thoughts began to wonder. I realize I’ve been mediocre my whole life. It’s depressing me as all I wanted to be in life is special. Sadly I’m not any more special then anyone else. All my hips and dreams as a child are gone. I’m fearful my oldest is too much like me and has a lot of potential but will remain mediocre. I was thinking of his school work and how he could get a’s but settles for b’s. On the plus side socially he seems to do better than me. He’s not all emotional and as far as I can tell he doesn’t write poetry about dying. Still is out ok to be mediocre? Can’t we all be special in some way?

11 thoughts on “Mediocrity

    Vega Void said:
    January 18, 2016 at 5:19 pm

    Grades in school aren’t necessarily an indicator of future mediocrity. 🙂 Just keep being encouraging.

    I often feel the same about my life, wishing I had accomplished more. This starts me on a terrible downward spiral and I wish I could just forget about that nonsense.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      January 18, 2016 at 5:21 pm

      Yes wish I could just be happy being me 🙂

    hopeforheather said:
    January 18, 2016 at 6:09 pm

    You are you. And that’s what makes you special.

    hubby1974 said:
    January 18, 2016 at 7:49 pm

    Angela, I was recently reminded that often someone’s greatness is often revealed more after they’ve died, when all the people they’ve personally touched reflect on their ‘loss’. I know you personally helped me directly and indirectly when I was just starting my blog. I think we can only strive to be the best we can be, with whatever circumstances we are in and instill this value in our kids.
    BTW – you have much more work still to achieve, so wishing you a healthy rest of the winter and many, many more years of blogging!

    alucardeverlasting said:
    January 19, 2016 at 6:16 am

    I know how you feel. But you are very special; every brain is like a fingerprint. I like to think of mediocrity as a myth, something created because someone decided to compare their life to someone else’s and ever since we’ve all been striving to be on top. But as long as we can find contentment in ourselves and how we live, the idea of being mediocre disappears. Why compare ourselves to anyone if we’re satisfied with who we are? I hope you can find that inner contentment soon! You deserve to know that happiness 🙂

      socialworkerangela responded:
      January 19, 2016 at 3:54 pm

      It’s hard to not compare some days. Thank you for your supportive words

    Xeno said:
    January 20, 2016 at 6:47 pm

    Your blog is special to me! đź’•

    Elusive Trope said:
    January 21, 2016 at 6:22 pm

    My humble two cents: Each of us are unique manifestations of the One, connected to the One, and thus connected to one another and all of being from the birds to the pebbles on the beach. As such, there is no mediocrity, for to say so is to call all of what is mediocre. Mediocre is a human construct of the mind, created by some human-created measure of value or significance, with as much variance as there are humans. To keep myself from rambling I offer a link to a blog post by John Coyote, within which is a video that speaks in so many ways to the dilemma you, I and so many others face in the swirling thoughts of our minds.

    https://johncoyote.wordpress.com/2016/01/21/ojibwa-grandmother-chant-4/

      socialworkerangela responded:
      January 21, 2016 at 6:41 pm

      Thank you for once again giving me some perspective

        Elusive Trope said:
        January 21, 2016 at 6:54 pm

        I know I need others to give me perspective, less I spin out of control.

Leave a Reply

