Inside out

Posted on

I finally got to watch Disney pixar inside out movie. It was cute but disappointing. I was hoping for some great insight and alas it was just a kids movie. If anything I’m triggered as my joy emotion is broke and the movie pointed it out for me. Silly women I know letting a movie trigger me but that is how I am. I have to accept I can’t help it.

I shouldn’t have worked on call yesterday. It has me triggered to as there is so many dysfunctional families out there and no resources to help. I’m not sure I did the right thing for a family and it’s eating me up. I need to do something fun for me to try and cheer me up. Hmmmm… I’ll have to think of something.

7 thoughts on “Inside out

    Elusive Trope said:
    November 28, 2015 at 7:42 pm

    Sometimes it is those little things like a kid’s movie that can be the biggest triggers, maybe because we let our guard down. There have been times when some sappy sentimental commercial selling this or that product triggers all sort of dysfunctional emotions and thoughts about myself, sometimes to point of tears.

    And I know that I need to work on reminding myself that distraction can be a good thing. We can’t stay in the center of our struggles without it wearing us down. We all need a respite. If for any reason other than to remind ourselves that all we can ask ourselves is that we truly try to do our best, regardless of the outcomes, and if we make mistakes, and we do, since we are human after all, then to do our best to learn from it.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      November 28, 2015 at 7:52 pm

      I made a couple pumpkin pies to distract myself and I think your spot on about having our guard down

    stephellaneous said:
    November 28, 2015 at 8:50 pm

    I completely agree with Elusive Trope….kids’ movies are guaranteed to trigger me and turn me into an absolute emotional wreck. Commercials, too…the strangest things set me off.

    I hope you feel better soon.

    Jen said:
    November 28, 2015 at 11:15 pm

    I really enjoyed the movie Inside Out. I thought it taught kids very well how our brains deal with emotions. How not every emotion is black or white. They can be intertwined and you are able to feel both joy and sadness at times with certain memories :).
    Sorry you’re feeling a bit down. Hope you found something that could distract you! 🙂

      socialworkerangela responded:
      November 29, 2015 at 9:00 am

      I did like at the end the globe’s were different colors

        Jen said:
        November 29, 2015 at 9:07 am

        Yes! I thought that was so neat! 😄

    illyspeaks said:
    November 30, 2015 at 11:47 pm

    Last week i wrote post about inside out. I totally agree with Jen. But i understand your realisation. I felt it too. I wondered how come i wasn’t predominantly joyful as a kid. And yes! Triggers! Bad thing is we can’t control those. Pumpkin pies!!! Yum

Leave a Reply

