Cure versus recovery

Posted on

I think I’ve figured out where I am going wrong in my thought processes. I want a cure for my borderline personality disorder and bipolar. It doesn’t exist. No pill and no therapy will take it away. But I want it so bad. I don’t know what recovery means or looks like. I’m not even focusing on it and I probably should be. Acceptance and recovery will be the closest thing I will ever get to a cure. So with an open mind, meds, and therapy I may be able to live a fuller more joyous life. That gives me hope. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Cure versus recovery

    Ann-Marie Sharpe said:
    November 24, 2015 at 4:41 pm

    I think you’ve got it down lovely lady – although there might not be a complete cure, we can fight on and have great lives with hard work, and the right help and meds 🙂 Keep fighting, you’re amazing xxx

    kebro87 said:
    November 24, 2015 at 5:58 pm

    I believe acceptance is the key. We cannot change some facts, but we can change the way we think about them. It takes a lot of effort, but none of us is fighting this good fight alone. Keep fighting 🙂

      socialworkerangela responded:
      November 24, 2015 at 10:43 pm

      One day at a time 🙂 thanks for your words of encouragement

    Not So Cold said:
    November 25, 2015 at 2:50 am

    One time during my therapy, I was furious and complained to the nurses that the treatment was not working because I still had bad thoughts. They asked if I still wanted to act on the bad thoughts. I replied, not so much. Then, they said, the therapy is working. We can’t undo what is in us or what is in our past. But we can learn how to manage it and have a healthy life in spite of it.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      November 25, 2015 at 6:44 am

      Sometimes it’s the little changes we miss I’m going to think of things that are better due to therapy

Leave a Reply

