My son

Posted on

We are back from the hospital. It’s a three hour drive because the care where we live is horrible and the don’t do pediatrics. Anyway… The tumor is stable so six more months another mri. Though in hindsight I wonder if it didn’t grow a little more because we use to do them yearly. I didn’t ask though as I figure he’s the doctor and I do trust him. The other odd thing is he wants us to see the oncologist. We haven’t seen one in five years. He said it’s best to have one familiar with the scans for when it’s time for it to be big enough to remove. I’m not sure if I shared but it’s in a hard to reach area right now in his brain and the surgery is more of a risk at this point then the tumor being there.

The whole thing makes me anxious which I know is normal but anxiety in someone bipolar is never normal as it leads to obsessive negative thinking. In my experience anyway. So I’m fighting the demons and trying to re program my mind to be hopeful. Can’t say it’s working but I get points for trying right? 🙂

8 thoughts on “My son

    mythoughts62 said:
    October 21, 2015 at 6:24 pm

    Be hopeful! I find it almost impossible at times too, but maybe we can try together…

    hopeforheather said:
    October 22, 2015 at 6:06 pm

    I am here if you have any questions about brain tumors!

      socialworkerangela responded:
      October 23, 2015 at 1:10 pm

      Thank you… I just wish it would disappear but it’s in a hard to reach area of the brain so we wait for it to grow.

        hopeforheather said:
        October 25, 2015 at 8:04 pm

        That is kind of the same situation for mine. May I ask where his is located? And you said he has another MRI in 6 months? Are the doctors giving a guess of what type of tumor?

        socialworkerangela responded:
        October 26, 2015 at 8:03 am

        It’s up in a hard to reach area in the middle of his brain and it’s a pilocytic astrocytoma. Yes they’ve been monitoring every six months now instead of yearly

    Elusive Trope said:
    October 23, 2015 at 9:49 am

    You get oodles of points. From my own experience, obsessive negative thoughts in a frenzied state will latch on to whatever may before one, there is no such thing as finding a distraction (hence the urge to self-medicate to at least numb the mind into submission). But for every ounce of your focused energies used on being hopeful is an ounce of energy that the obsessive negative energies don’t have to use. One moves forward not by banishing those negative thoughts, but in spite of them, pushed down to just a dull roar. For you and your family: Peace.

Leave a Reply

