Self esteem

Posted on

image

I’m having anxiety over next weekend. I’m suppose to go out with my friends for my birthday. I haven’t went out dancing in over two years and easily fifty pounds lighter. All I can think of is how drunk I need to get to not care that I won’t be hit on. Is that stupid? I don’t want to cancel because I don’t want to be a hermit anymore. Maybe I should just go out to eat and a movie. But then I’ll have the regret of letting my self esteem get to me. But then I’m afraid I’ll get triggered into a depression by someone saying something about me. Sigh 😦

7 thoughts on “Self esteem

    mentalbreakinprogress said:
    October 9, 2015 at 8:54 pm

    First of all, Happy Birthday!! 🙂 xo Secondly, I can relate to this feeling all too well…BUT that being said, you deserve to go out and have fun with your friends for your birthday (((hugs))) They are your friends! They’re not gonna let stupid people mess with you and they want to celebrate YOUR day! 🙂 I get the anxiety, I really do…it’s only more recently that I can get through an entire session at the grocery store instead of running out to the car and letting my fiance finish them lol. Also, let’s just say for the sake of argument, some moron DOES say something about you, think of where you will be…out dancing…with a bunch of drunk people…most of them are not even going to remember the night lol I say go for it! Treat yourself…people are only uncomfortable if you are so if you’re having a blast people will join in…there won’t be room for haters 😉 xo

      socialworkerangela responded:
      October 9, 2015 at 9:22 pm

      Your totally right … It’s my night I should just enjoy it

        mentalbreakinprogress said:
        October 9, 2015 at 9:25 pm

        Damn skippy I’m right! lol j/k now go have some fun birthday girl! Have a drink or 5 for me! 🙂

    mentalbreakinprogress said:
    October 9, 2015 at 8:56 pm

    Also, before you head out for the weekend feel free to stop by and drop a line at my Meet and Greet! It’s been fun so far, would love to see you there! 🙂

    robertmgoldstein said:
    October 10, 2015 at 5:15 pm

    You know —

    my experience of depression is that it feeds on itself. It says things to us that we would never accept from someone else. It tells us that getting hit on is more important than celebrating our life with people who like us. It tells us that we can’t just be who we are…in all of the magic of merely existing.

    My way of dealing with depression is to tell it to STFU.

    Sometimes I do that and come home depressed, which is how I would have been anyway. But sometimes I go out and have fun — and that can kick my depression in the butt for at least two weeks.

    I hope this helps —

    RG

      socialworkerangela responded:
      October 10, 2015 at 5:49 pm

      Thank you your right it needs to stfu. I’m going to enjoy my friends

Leave a Reply

