Triggers

Posted on

Now that my meds are being lowered and I’m getting feelings back… I’m also getting triggered a lot. Today I got advised of something I do when my meds are in a different place which is job hunt. I didn’t realize but it’s true. Unfortunately being told this has made me sad. I’m thinking I’m embarrassed to be so transparent. Or maybe it was the person I was talking to and getting called out. Or maybe it’s just being different. Why do our brains work in such confusing patterns? Maybe I’m stressing myself for nothing. But it totally triggered me. Boo hoo

Do you get triggered easily?

7 thoughts on “Triggers

    Yinglan said:
    July 28, 2015 at 11:31 am

    Our brain does work in such confusing way, doesn’t it? I get trigger easily too though I don’t know why. Maybe it runs in my family since everyone in my family have such a bad temper.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      July 28, 2015 at 12:23 pm

      Life would be easier if we could detect our triggers with ease

        Yinglan said:
        July 28, 2015 at 12:48 pm

        Absolutely.

    anxiousbuttrying said:
    July 28, 2015 at 12:57 pm

    I’m not bipolar but I have major depression with psychotic features. I find I am triggered easily. My mood fluctuates often. I use to self medicate with drugs, cigarettes, food and self-harm – now that I have peace with these addictions I find having to deal with the emotions I was numbing pretty overwhelming.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      July 28, 2015 at 1:59 pm

      I was over medicated by the doctor so emotions are starting to come back. It is overwhelming… Hugs

    Adrian said:
    July 28, 2015 at 11:15 pm

    I have job jumped so much in my life that I can honestly say I have worked in every industry…. and yes, something always triggered the desire to change… coworkers, the way the work made me feel, stress from 16 hr shifts (florist on valentines day week), one bad day, feeling embarrassed, having a delusion about something that I now realize was completely inaccurate, things going on in my life, and the list goes on…. so I sort of do the same thing, but I literally leave my job, don’t show up, call in repeatedly, or on a couple occasions actually put in a notice. Yes, it’s super confusing, but at least you are aware of it now…. now that I am aware of it I really push myself to not let things affect my work, and when I start calling in for no reason or lie about it I stop myself, so it doesn’t get excessive. It was pointed out that you job hunt, so you can really work on controlling that cycle. Good luck!

      socialworkerangela responded:
      July 29, 2015 at 7:53 am

      Your right now I know it’s a pattern I can better figure out my real emotions in wanting to change jobs

Leave a Reply

