Reunion regret

Posted on

image

My twenty year class reunion was this weekend. I didn’t go as I didn’t have the money or the self esteem to show up. But looking at the fb photos I regret not going. I haven’t gone to a single one and don’t regret the others but this one is bothering me. Maybe because before there was no fb proof of what I missed out on. Instead I stayed home and was stood up by a friend who’s house I was suppose to go to. Sucks ass.

Tomorrow I go back to work I’d rather just hole up in my room and have a pity party. I know it can’t happen but I want it to. I need a hug 😦

12 thoughts on “Reunion regret

    lostunicorn said:
    July 19, 2015 at 12:28 pm

    Hug!

    My 20-year “reunion” was this weekend too. I chose not to go as well. I haven’t looked at FB photos for fear I’d feel the same way you do, but honestly, I’m trying not to think too much about what I could have possibly missed. A few beers, small talk about what we’re up to, faking how awesome my life is…yada, yada…

    I do not know how your high school years went but I do not have any friends that I currently hang out with that I went to high school with. In fact, my neighbor is someone who was a year behind me and we are just good neighbors. Not friends.

    Reunions are nothing but a bunch of people you used to know trying to see who’s life turned out better. They’re not friends. If they were, they’d be there for you right now. They’d have come and pick you up and take you with them to have a great time. You’re worth more than a one night friendship stand.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      July 19, 2015 at 12:30 pm

      So true I didn’t think of it that way thanks πŸ™‚ it does make me feel better

        lostunicorn said:
        July 19, 2015 at 12:32 pm

        I’m glad I could help a little. I hope you have an awesome day! πŸ™‚

    technicolourbrain said:
    July 19, 2015 at 1:35 pm

    I am only six years out of school and I dread the day I have to go to a class reunion. I deleted most of my old classmates on FB because I had low self esteem and I was jealous. I wanted to cut that section of my life away completely. My mind told me that they were better than me in school because they were popular. I was better academically but that doesn’t count for much in high school. Six years later, I realise that not everything on FB is real. Just because they take perfect selfies on FB does not mean that their lives are perfect. If I met them in town they probably wouldn’t say hello to me. I don’t care though. I’m going to live my life for me. I may have to attend a class reunion someday and when I do I’ll bring all my successes and not my regrets from school.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      July 19, 2015 at 1:47 pm

      Yeah I don’t have but a couple on fb and your right a lot of fb is fake or what we want people to perceive.

    thebipolarchick said:
    July 19, 2015 at 4:52 pm

    I didnt go to my 20th class reunion and felt the same way.

    MrKnowBody said:
    July 19, 2015 at 6:46 pm

    hugs
    big big hugs

    Amb said:
    July 20, 2015 at 1:46 am

    Sending kind thoughts and gentle hugs your way, if okay!

    Adrian said:
    July 21, 2015 at 1:58 am

    Very ironic. I posted something about making a decision, and have read four other posts this evening about choices being made…. I guess we are all making difficult decisions lately.. don’t regret your choice. If you were feeling uncomfortable about it, you would most likely feel uncomfortable there. Sure the photos make it look desirable… but whatever, its facebook… full of selfies and not so boring photos… unless I am looking at a plate of food you are about to eat. My theory: reunions are silly if you don’t keep in touch with these people. They are meant for those that want to show off, are looking to hook up, or have kept a lot of their school friends. Personally, when I think of my reunion that is coming up next year, I feel that it is pointless. Why go see a bunch of people I don’t really care to see? I haven’t talked to them in years, and there is a VERY good reason for that.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      July 21, 2015 at 12:27 pm

      Very true in reality I didn’t miss anything significant thanks for your supportive words

Leave a Reply

