Borderline personality disorder stigma

Posted on

I think this is an important message I found on fb. Yes I’m on there a lot lol but mainly in my support groups. Anyway bpd comes in many forms. I was diagnosed mainly for my suicidal ideation binge eating paranoia and impulsivity which can also be from the bipolar. So I’m not sure I exactly have it but I do fall into a lot of the symptoms.

image

I googled bpd dsmv and this is what I find for criteria

To meet a diagnosis of Borderline Personality Disorder under the DSM-V, you must show “a pervasive pattern of instability of interpersonal relationships, self-image, and affects, and marked impulsivity, beginning in early adulthood and present in a variety of contexts, as indicated by five (or more) of the following”:

Frantic efforts to avoid real or imagined abandonment
A pattern of unstable and intense interpersonal relationships characterized by alternating between extremes of idealization and devaluation
Identity disturbance: markedly and persistently unstable self-image or sense of self
Impulsivity in at least two areas that are potentially self-damaging (e.g., substance abuse, binge eating, and reckless driving)
Recurrent suicidal behavior, gestures, or threats, or self-mutilating behavior
Affective instability due to a marked reactivity of mood (e.g., intense episodic dysphoria, irritability, or anxiety usually lasting a few hours and only rarely more than a few days)
Chronic feelings of emptiness
Inappropriate, intense anger or difficulty controlling anger (e.g., frequent displays of temper, constant anger, recurrent physical fights)
Transient, stress-related paranoid ideation or severe dissociative symptoms

I mainly talk about having bipolar but I’m a rare bird and have both. Thank goodness for medicine! Maybe I’m more recovered than I give myself credit for.

Leave a Reply

