Who am I?

Posted on Updated on

image

I’d love to say I’m in recovery but I really don’t know what that means for mental health. Like how can I recover from bipolar?

Also I don’t even think I know the real me. I know who or how I want to be but I’m not that person. I know my flaws. I know some good things about me but I don’t know the real me. I feel disconnected to the child I was which I would think is the real me. I was a sullen child who projected the clown. So can I even say that was the real me?

I’m 38 years old shouldn’t I know? It’s so frustrating. Any thoughts to help me figure this out please leave below.

4 thoughts on “Who am I?

    Hope's Hearth said:
    May 7, 2015 at 5:43 pm

    Recovery is a process and can sometimes be lifelong, so you can still be in recovery even if you make mistakes or aren’t “cured” so to speak.

      socialworkerangela responded:
      May 7, 2015 at 6:28 pm

      Is it kind of like effectively coping? I honestly don’t know

        Hope's Hearth said:
        May 7, 2015 at 6:56 pm

        I’m not 100% sure either but yes I’d say that’s what it is…when you’re basically doing well with it most of the time or enough to still do life reasonably well even if the struggle is hard.

    Psyloki said:
    May 7, 2015 at 7:13 pm

    I think being “In Recovery” is a nice way of saying that you’re aware enough of your illness to not let it completely rule your life.

Leave a Reply

