I’ve been upgraded to sorrow

Posted on Updated on

image

Wikipedia defines Sorrow as an emotion, feeling, or sentiment. Sorrow ‘is more “intense” than sadness…it implies a long term state’.[1] At the same time ‘sorrow – but not unhappiness – suggests a degree of resignation…which lends sorrow its peculiar air of dignity’.[2]

‘In terms of attitude, sorrow can be said to be half way between sadness (accepting) and distress (not accepting)’.[3]

Yesterday I had sadness today I have sorrow. I lost a friend over something that truly wasn’t my fault. I don’t blame them but I wish they could overcome the obstacle to our friendship. Vague again right. The full story is embarrassing and sharing would add to my sorrow.

I have a lead weight at the pit of my stomach and it’s taking all my energy to not stalk the person. They meant so much to me. I can’t cry due to my meds but I felt years over it today. It was surprising and comforting. But didn’t help the sorrow. I’m ready for this feeling to end it brings on dark thoughts and makes me anxious.

Leave a Reply

